Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Happy Birthday, Albert Ayler

Albert Ayler
July 13, 1936 – November 25, 1970

Albert Ayler - Nuits De La Fondation Maeght 1970 "Spiritual Reunion"

"New Ghosts" (demo fragments)

"Truth Is Marching In"
Albert Ayler (tenor saxophone), Donald Ayler (trumpet), Michel Samson (violin), Bill Folwell (bass), Beaver Harris (drums).

Recorded November 3, 1966 at Berlin Philarmonie: Berlin, Germany.
From "Holy Ghost - Rare & Unissued Recordings (1962-70)", Revenant Records

George Gershwin's "Summertime"

Some tributes to Albert Ayler:

Tongues Of Fire: "New Ghosts"

Peter Brotzmann Quartet ''Die Like A Dog'' ( Berlin , 1995 )

Joe McPhee, Roy Campbell, William Parker and Warren Smith quartet: a tribute to Albert Ayler
live at A38 in Budapest, Hungary on September 5th, 2008

Broetzeseinkumpel, "Long Live Albert Ayler!"

No comments: